Evening Primorse by Kopano Matlwa

Evening Primrose by Kopano Matlwa was the first book that I got sent upon my arrival to England earlier this year. I first heard about it on Twitter, described as the perfect book to mix #readwomen and #readdiverse. So that was it for me. African literature was one of my favourite subjects during my degree, […]

Read More

Why Patricia Cornwell is One of the Best Crime Fiction Writers (And Why You Should Be Reading Her Works)

‘Hi! My name is Elena and I’m writing a Humanities doctoral thesis. On Contemporary Literature. On crime fiction. On Patricia Cornwell’s books’. That is how much it takes me these days to get a look of embarrassment from many people, although luckily not my beloved ones. Not only am I pursuing a PhD in Humanities, […]

Read More

The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf

I borrowed The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf from the school library last June, because I realised that it is one of those landmarks in feminist theory that I still had to read. During my degree, I had one of my now PhD supervisors talk about “The Third Shift” for women, and the idea stayed […]

Read More

Forensics by Val McDermid

Forensics. The Anatomy of Crime by Val McDermid

Forensics (2015) by Val McDermid is a non-fiction book, and the official companion to the Wellcome Trust’s exhibition with the same name, that runs from January until June 2015. Because of the theme of this blog, and my PhD, fellow crime fiction academic Mrs.P encouraged me to pay my first visit to London to see […]

Read More

Body of Evidence (Scarpetta #2) by Patricia Cornwell

Body of Evidence is the second of the Kay Scarpetta novels. My wonderful man bought me a gorgeous hardback edition containing both Postmortem and Body of Evidence. I read Postmortem last Christmas and decided to read a book (Kate Morton’s The Secret Keeper) before facing Scarpetta #2.   From Book Depository: A reclusive writer is […]

Read More

Postmortem (Scarpetta #1) by Patricia Cornwell

Review of Patricia Cronwell’s first novel in the Dr. Kay Scarpetta series “Postmortem” originally published in 1990.

Read More